counter statistics

Monday, April 24, 2006

Stadium Boondoggle Passes House Ways and Means

17-15 according to the Strib.

Sid Hartman is having a cow about the Hennepin County House members voting against this boondoggle:

Stadium opponents take foolish risk
The seven Hennepin County members of the House Taxes Committee are worried about getting re-elected, but losing the Twins might cost them, too.

It's amazing, considering the chance this metropolitan area would lose the Twins if a stadium bill isn't passed, that seven Hennepin County members of the 29-member House Taxes Committee voted for having a referendum that would have killed the bill.

That is why it was a close, 15-13 vote (one was absent) against the referendum.

This group included Ron Erhardt of Edina, who voted for a referendum and then when that failed brought up the fact that a roof should be included with the stadium.

Those on the committee who voted for the referendum were Erhardt, Ron Abrams of Minnetonka, Jim Davnie and Joe Mullery of Minneapolis, Ann Lenczewski of Bloomington, Connie Bernardy of Fridley and Kurt Zellers of Maple Grove.

Senate Majority Leader Dean Johnson said the attitude of the representatives of Hennepin County could be a factor in the House vote and also in the Senate.

Yes, I assume the other members of the Legislature might say: If Hennepin County representatives don't want it, why should we vote for it?

The Hennepin County tax of 0.15 cents on every dollar is 30 cents on every $200 spent, $3 on every $2,000 spent and $30 on every $20,000 spent, and these cowards who represent the baseball fans and others are worried they might not get re-elected if they support the tax.

If the team leaves, they might not get re-elected either.

Sid Hartman hasn't looked at the polls - or seen how citizens react to this nonsense at legislative town meetings. "What part of no don't you understand?" is a typical statement about the stadium from angry Hennepin County constituents. Write the Senate Tax Committee to ask them to oppose this boondoggle.

Chair: Lawrence J. Pogemiller
Vice Chair: David J. Tomassoni
Ranking Minority Member: William V. Belanger Jr.
Member: Thomas M. Bakk
Don Betzold
Debbie J. Johnson
Warren Limmer
John Marty
Mike McGinn
Mee Moua
Julianne E. Ortman
Rod Skoe

You can paste the following into an email:,,,,,,,,,,

Keep the pressure on.